Leica Oskar Barnack Award 2018


Entries will be accepted exclusively as online submissions between March 1 and April 5, 2018.

Who may enter
The competition has two categories: the Leica Oskar Barnack Award and the Leica Oskar Barnack Award Newcomer.

The “Leica Oskar Barnack Award” is open to professional photographers only.

The “Leica Oskar Barnack Award Newcomer” is open to all future professional photographers who are not older than 25 years.

The contest is organised by Leica Camera AG.

Entry submissions must be a self-contained series of images in which the photographer perceives and documents the interaction between man and the environment with acute vision and contemporary visual style – creative, groundbreaking and innovative.

Photographers must submit a series of minimum 10 and maximum 12 photographs taken in 2017/2018 or long-term projects containing at least one photo from 2017/2018.

Only one entry per photographer is accepted.

1979-2017 Winners

Entry fees
Entry is free.

• The winner of the main category “Leica Oskar Barnack Award” receives a cash prize of 25,000 € and in addition a Leica M camera and a lens worth 10,000 €.

• The winner in the category “Leica Oskar Barnack Award Newcomer” receives a cash prize of 10,000 € and a Leica M camera and lens worth 10,000 €.

• Ten finalists will be awarded each with a cash prize of 2,500 € for their series. 

Please visit http://www.leica-oskar-barnack-award.com/en/ to learn more about the competition.