2020 Commonwealth Short Story Prize


Opening date
1 September 2019

Closing date
1 November 2019

Who may enter
Entrants must be citizens of a Commonwealth country.

Entrants must be aged 18 years or over on 1st November 2019.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is an annual award for unpublished short fiction administered and funded by the Commonwealth Foundation.

The story should be adult fiction and must not have been written for children alone. There are no restrictions on setting, genre or theme. Entries must be 2,000 words minimum, 5,000 words maximum.

The story must be original work and should not have been published anywhere, in full or in part, in any language, before 1 May 2020. 

Entries should be submitted in English, with the following exceptions: entries from Commonwealth citizens who write in Bengali, Chinese, French, Greek, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan, Tamil and Turkish and who do not have an English translation of their story, may submit their stories in the original language.

Entries must be submitted via the online entry form by 1 November 2019.

Entry fees
The competition is free to enter.

There will be five winners, one from each region (Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, Caribbean, Pacific). One regional winner will be selected as the overall winner. The overall winner of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize will receive £5,000 and the remaining four regional winners £2,500
If the winning short story is a translation into English, the translator will receive additional prize money.

Please visit http://www.commonwealthwriters.org/cssp-2020/ to learn more about the competition.