Skip to main content

2024 Commonwealth Short Story Prize


Posted on 20 August 2023

Opening date
1 September 2023

Closing date
1 November 2023

Who may enter
Entrants must be citizens of a Commonwealth coutry aged 18 and over.

Short description
The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is an annual award for unpublished short fiction administered and funded by the Commonwealth Foundation.

The story should be adult fiction. There are no restrictions on setting, genre or theme.

Entries must be 2,000 words minimum, 5,000 words maximum.

The story must be original work and should not have been published anywhere, in full or in part, in any language, before 1 May 2024. 

Submissions are accepted in English, Bengali, Chinese, Creole, English, French, Greek, Malay, Maltese, Portuguese, Samoan, Swahili, Tamil, and Turkish.

Entry fees
The competition is free to enter.

There will be five winners, one from each region (Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, Caribbean, Pacific).

The overall winner will receive £5,000 and the remaining four regional winners £2,500.

Competition website
For further information visit the official competition website.