Skip to main content

Montreal International Poetry Prize 2024



Posted on 29 January 2024

15 May 2024

Who may enter
Entries may be submitted from anywhere in the world. All Entrants shall be of the age of majority in their legal jurisdiction of residency at the time of entry submission. 

Short description

The prize is run by the Department of English at McGill University in Montreal, Canada.

Each entry must be an original, unpublished poem of 40 or fewer lines.

Entries may be on any topic.

Entries must be written in English.

Read the winning poems:
2022 – Glacier by Claire Wahmanholm
2020 – Harlem Valley Psychiatric Center by Victoria Korth
2017 – Caesura by Erin Rodoni
2015 – 38 Michigans by Eva H.D.
2013 – The Antenna by Mia Anderson
2011 – Walking Underwater by Mark Tredinnick

Entry fees 

Regular entry (from competition opening to 1 May 2024): $20 CAD 
Late entry (from 2 to 15 May 2024): $25 CAD
Additional entry: $17 CAD for every additional entry

The winner will receive $20,000 CAD.

Competition website
For further information visit the official competition website.