2021 Australian Geographic Nature Photographer of the Year


Published: Wednesday, January 6, 2021

February 5, 2021

Who may enter
The competition is open to anyone.

The organiser of the competition is the South Australian Museum.

All photographs must be of natural fauna, flora or natural land formations and must have been taken in the ANZANG bioregion. ANZANG bioregion means Australia, New Zealand, Antarctica and the New Guinea region.

There are nine sections in the competition:
• Animal Behaviour
• Animal Portrait
• Botanical
• Landscape
• Threatened Species
• Monochrome
• Our Impact
• Animal Habitat
• Junior - the entrant must be under 18 years of age

All entries must be submitted via the competition website.

Previous overall winners

Photo by Ben Blanche, BORDER FIRE MT BARNEY, 2020 Winner

Photo by Mat Beetson, FIN WHALE'S DEMISE, 2019 Winner

Photo by Tracey Jennings, HIDE AND SEEK, 2018 Winner

Photo by Justin Gilligan, PREDATORY PURSUIT, 2017 Winner

Photo by Matthew McIntosh, PIERCING HEADACHE, 2016 Winner

Entry fees

A$38 for the first entry and A$22 for each additional entry.

Entries in the Junior Photography section: A$10 for the first entry and A$5 for each additional entry.


The overall winner will receive A$10,000 and a holiday prize provided by Coral Expeditions.
Each of the first 8 category winners receives A$1,000 and the runner-up of each section receives A$500.
There is a A$1,000 prize for the best portfolio of six or more entries.
The Junior category winner receives A$300 and the runner up receives A$100.
The People’s Choice winner receives A$500.

Competition website
For further information visit the official competition website.