Skip to main content

2023 Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award



Posted on 19 January 2023

3 March 2023

Who may enter
The competition is open to women, nonbinary and gender nonconforming journalists. Both freelance journalists and those affiliated with media organizations are eligible.

Short description
The competition is organized by the International Women's Media Foundation (IWMF) located in Washington. 

The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was created to honor the life and work of Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer and IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winner Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014). With this Award, the IWMF celebrates the courageous work of women photojournalists like Anja who inspire us to take action and better understand the world. 

A candidate may either self-nominate or be nominated by an editor, mentor or journalist peer.

Each nomination and application must include:
– candidate information,
– work samples made up of a series of 12 photographs,
– a candidate/nomination statement. 

Entry fee 
The competition is free to enter.

The winner will receive a $20,000 cash prize.

Competition website
For further information visit the official competition website.