2021 Commonwealth Short Story Prize


Published: 1 September 2020

1 November 2020

Who may enter
Entrants must be citizens of a Commonwealth country.

Entrants must be aged 18 years or over on 1 November 2020.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is an annual award for unpublished short fiction administered and funded by the Commonwealth Foundation.

The story should be adult fiction and must not have been written for children alone. There are no restrictions on setting, genre or theme. Entries must be 2,000 words minimum, 5,000 words maximum.

The story must be original work and should not have been published anywhere, in full or in part, in any language, before 1 May 2021. 

Entries should be submitted in English, with the following exceptions: entries from Commonwealth citizens who write in Bengali, Chinese, French, Greek, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan, Tamil and Turkish and who do not have an English translation of their story, may submit their stories in the original language. 

Entries must be submitted via the online entry form by 1 November 2020.

Entry fees
The competition is free to enter.

There will be five winners, one from each region (Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, Caribbean, Pacific). Regional winners each receive £2,500 and the opportunity to be published online by Granta magazine.

The overall winner receives £5,000.

Competition website
For further information visit official website https://www.commonwealthwriters.org/cssp-2021/