2023 Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers Award


Posted on 18 January 2023 

31 March 2023

Who may enter
The competition is open to writers who have not previously published or self-published a full-length book of prose. 

Entrants must reside in the British Commonwealth or Eire.

Short description
The competition is organizad by the Deborah Rogers Foundation

An award of £10,000 will be presented to a first-time prose writer whose submission demonstrates literary talent and who would benefit from financial support to complete their work.

Submissions should take the form of 15,000 – 20,000 words of a work in progress. The work can be fiction, non-fiction, children’s or short stories. 

Judges will be Abdulrazak Gurnah, Claire Adam and Annalena McAfee.

Entry fee
The competition is free to enter.

The winner receives £10,000 and the two shortlisted authors £1,000 each.

Competition website
For further information visit the official competition website.