The 2020 Nelligan Prize for Short Fiction


Wednesday, 11 September 2019

Opening date
1 December 2019

Closing date
14 March 2020

Who may enter
The competition is open to both U.S. and international writers.

The competition is being organised by the Colorado State University’s Center for Literary Publishing.

$2,000 will be awarded for the best short story. Stories must be previously unpublished. There are no theme restrictions, but stories must be at least 10 pages but no more than 50 pages.

This year’s final judge is Lori Ostlund.

Entry fees
Entry fee is $15 per story.

The winner receives a $2,000 honorarium and the story is published in the fall/winter 2020 issue of Colorado Review.

Competition website
For further information visit