The Bath Novel Award 2020


Sunday, 5 January 2020

31 May 2020

Who may enter
The Bath Novel Award 2020 is a prize for unpublished, self-published and independently published writers worldwide.

The competition is organised by Caroline Ambrose a Bath-based book columnist, public libraries campaigner, & regular chair for literary events.  

Novels can be in any genre written for adult or young adult readers.  

Novels must be your original work and in English.

Submissions should be a single document which includes (up to) the first 5,000 words of a novel. Your full novel should be at least 50,000 words in length.

Novels can be unpublished, self-published or independently published. For the purposes of this competition, ‘self-published or independently published’ is defined as published without an advance payment.

The judge is Jenny Savill

Entry fees
The entry fee is £28 per novel.

The winner will receive a cash prize of £3,000.

Competition website
For further information visit