The Fish Poetry Prize 2023


Posted on 30 August 2022

31 March 2023

Who may enter
The competition is open to poets of any nationality writing in English.

Short description

The competition is organized by Fish Publishing, an independent publishing company based in Ireland.

“ The Fish Poetry Prize was established in 2006. Previous judges include Billy Collins, Brian Turner, Leanne O’Sullivan, Michael McCarthy, Peter Fallon, Matthew Sweeney, Paul Durcan, Ruth Padel, Nick Laird and Jo Shapcott.

We are delighted that Billy Collins will again be judging. Billy will select the 10 poems to be published in the Fish Anthology 2023.

There is no restriction on theme or style.

Poem length is restricted to 60 lines. The title is not included in the word limit.

The winning poems must be available for the Fish Anthology and, therefore, must not have been published previously.

Entry fees
First entry: 14 €
Subsequent: 9 €

• 1st prize: 1,000 €
• 2nd prize: 300 € and a week in residence at Anam Cara Writer’s and Artist’s Retreat, West Cork, Ireland
• 3rd prize: 300 €

Top 10 poems will be published in the Fish Anthology 2023.

Competition website
For further information visit the official competition website.