The Galley Beggar Press Short Story Prize 2022/2023


Posted on 22 July 2022

16 October 2022

Who may enter
The competition is open to both unpublished and published writers, and from anywhere in the world.

Short description

The contest is organized by the Galley Beggar Press, a publishing company based in Norwich, England.

We love fiction in all of its forms – experimental, ‘literary’, crime, fantasy, Sci-Fi – and the only thing that matters to us is quality.

The story must be written in English.

Submissions must be no longer than 6,000 words.

Stories that have been previously published (online or in print form) will not be eligible.

This year's judges are: Meena Kandasamy, Jarred McGinnis, Jon McGregor.

Entry fee
The cost of entry per submission is £10

Each year, we aim to offer a significant number of free entries to our prize, in order to make sure that writers who would like to enter (but cannot afford to) are not excluded.  This year, we are happy to say that we are able to offer 225 free entries.

• The winning author will receive a cash prize of £2,500.
• Shortlisted authors will each receive a cash prize of £200.
• Each longlisted author will receive £50 in book tokens, plus a 4-book subscription to Galley Beggar Press. 

Competition website
For further information visit the official competition website.